I was a teacher, now I’m an artist.

I was a teacher. I taught 3rd grade. I went into teaching because I loved kids and it seemed practical for getting a job. Turns out for me, those were not good enough reasons to teach. There is way too much to expand upon about that today, but maybe some other day. Let’s just say I will forever appreciate teachers, their time, their drive, etc. and I encourage you to do the same. Please think twice before judging your child’s teacher because they are young or because they may do things a bit differently than you would. Talk about pressure. Not only are you responsible for all of the little kiddos in the room, their well-being, their safety and their education for the year, BUT you are under the close watch of their parents and family and every move you make is being judged. Anyway, I loved the people I worked with and the kiddos, but the rest was too much for me.

Since changing career paths this past year, I have been working several different jobs in order to bring in some dough. I started the year off going to school to become a medical assistant, but I can’t stand the site of blood and I feel faint when I talk about needles both of which I had convinced myself I could overcome. I assume you can imagine where that led me. I also worked at the University of Georgia as an academic mentor for the student athletes. That was enjoyable, but I wasn’t able to get enough hours.

For the past eight months, I have been working as a receptionist at a branch of Wells Fargo. For five of those months, I have been working for a friend locally that is an amazing ceramic bead artist. She has been in the art business for years now and she is awesome! As soon as I figure out how to link to her page, I will. I am very thankful for both of these jobs.

While continuing to work, I am also dabbling in the arts. I have always adored different kinds of art, but I was told it wasn’t practical as a career. Yet, my best memories of high school classes include spending hours and hours of free class periods and after school hours alone in the dark room developing my film. Talk about peaceful. I love digital photography, but I so miss the dark room.

Although I have a humongous brain full of artsy related ideas, I have chosen to focus my energy on two for now. I am resurrecting my passion for photography and learning the new-to-me art of mosaics and ceramic tiles. I can’t promise where I will end up, but I can promise I will enjoy the adventure!

Tags: , , , , ,

About ArtsyKatie

I enjoy all kinds of art and I love trying new things. Colorful buildings, natural scenery, photography, funky architecture, different cultural settings and international cooking all inspire me. I am a ceramic tile and mosaic artist and I create supplies for others to use in their own artistic endeavors.

Leave a Reply

