New Beginnings- Round Two

Last year, I prayed and thought long and hard before I finally decided to quit my teaching job. As soon as I did though, I knew it was one of the best decisions I had ever made. I considered it a new beginning for me in so many ways. S and I had spent much of the summer in Eastern Europe, pure bliss I might add, and it was clear as day that my decision to quit was the right one. I didn’t know where I was headed then, I did a lot of experimenting and random jobs. I even went back to school temporarily. This year has been full of moments where people ask me what I’ve been up to lately and my answer literally changes every time I answer the question. While it was a bit stressful financially, it was exciting. This year has changed me. I still don’t know exactly where I am headed, but I feel like I am more ready to jump on board and see. This was a huge transition year for S and I in our marriage, our friendships, mentally, physically and spiritually. We’ve had several long, thought provoking conversations and situations that have stretched us in hard, but really wonderful ways. I think we are both glad the year is over (we live based on the school year) and we are ready for new beginning round two.

New beginning round two started yesterday. I quit my job at Wells Fargo. I have enjoyed working there, but I am ready to move on to my artsy career and see where it leads me. I will continue working at Jangles and adding more hours there which is a huge blessing. I will also have a full day set aside for my own artsy endeavors! I can’t wait. I have tons of ideas and I am ready to give it my best shot. I am ready to set small, achievable goals for myself and get started. S is super supportive of this endeavor which makes this all the more sweet. I will leave you with something he said to me when I got home to tell him I had officially quit. I have a feeling that when money is tight, I will need to remind myself of this frequently.

“Katie, this is your time!!!” ~S

Tags: , , ,

About ArtsyKatie

I enjoy all kinds of art and I love trying new things. Colorful buildings, natural scenery, photography, funky architecture, different cultural settings and international cooking all inspire me. I am a ceramic tile and mosaic artist and I create supplies for others to use in their own artistic endeavors.

Leave a Reply

