Making and Glazing

Lately I have been making a ton of tiles and glazing every chance I get. I love glazing. For me it combines the therapeutic qualities of painting and the grouping thought process of putting mosaic tiles together to create a set. Every time I get my tiles out of the kiln it feels like Christmas! I really love seeing how things turn out because it is always different from what I imagine. I appreciate the way glaze bleeds or spreads out. Many artists are expecting the glaze to behave the way they want it to, but sometimes I look forward to the element of surprise.

My goal lately has been to build up a small stock of completed pieces so I can post several groups at a time. I am getting ready to begin listing on my Etsy shop. I will be selling completed mosaics and tiles/found object sets for others to use as mosaic and mixed media supplies. I am SO excited!

I’ve been stashing away inspiring photos from travel, decor, architecture, etc. I will be posting about inspiration as soon as we get some computer software troubleshooting sorted out around here! Also, I will be posting pictures of my studio and work in progress. Today is my work from home day so off to making I go! TGIF!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

About ArtsyKatie

I enjoy all kinds of art and I love trying new things. Colorful buildings, natural scenery, photography, funky architecture, different cultural settings and international cooking all inspire me. I am a ceramic tile and mosaic artist and I create supplies for others to use in their own artistic endeavors.

Leave a Reply

