Oh Fall, I love you

I am headed to the North Carolina mountains for a ladies weekend. I can’t wait to enjoy the fall weather and company. The weather has been spectacular here for the past several weeks, especially compared to last October when I think it may have rained the entire month. This is usually the time of year when I am reminded how much I love Athens and also how I miss the New York fall.

Of course, I miss the fall staples that seem to be more available where I am from- fresh apple cider, fried cakes and the smell of a smoky fireplace in the early morning and evening. But in New York, Halloween was almost always one of the first snow falls of the year which meant wearing snow pants, a jacket, hat and gloves OVER your costume. I remember frequently being asked what I was dressed as under all of my snow gear.

While I have very fond memories of New York in the fall, it is also amazing that this Halloween weekend in Athens people will enjoy sunny weather in the 70s and be able to wear any costume they so desire without all of the extra garb. I love this town. I remember wondering if I would ever feel at home here when we first arrived- interesting how things change.

I am actually a big snob when it comes to where I grew up because I think it was the best way and the best place to grow up. A lot of my sentimental feelings towards Rochester stem from living in the same house my whole life with wonderful family and parents that always worked to help us enjoy and embrace the weather and surroundings. I can understand now why other people don’t share my obsession with snow, but I wish they did. I feel like I have the best parents in the entire world for many reasons and I know I am bias. Home to me carries a certain nostalgia and is represented by many traditions, activities, scents, tastes and best of all, people.

It is a really good thing that I have come to feel like Athens is a home for S & I. That doesn’t mean that I forget about all of the pieces that make a home homey, but that I can appreciate different aspects of different places that we may venture to. I love new places, but I also love the feeling of having a place to refer to as home.

Many thank goes to Athens for helping me TRY not to be such a home snob…

Also, a quick Happy Birthday shout out to M because she rocks!

Tags: , , , ,

About ArtsyKatie

I enjoy all kinds of art and I love trying new things. Colorful buildings, natural scenery, photography, funky architecture, different cultural settings and international cooking all inspire me. I am a ceramic tile and mosaic artist and I create supplies for others to use in their own artistic endeavors.

One response to “Oh Fall, I love you”

  1. jan says :

    Makes me feel good- thanks!
    M

Leave a Reply

