My 2011 Art & Work Commitments

Over the next few posts, I am going to share some of the resolutions or commitments (or whatever you want to call them) I am making in certain areas of my life for this year. Today we are talking about my art related goals.

1) Blogging- I want to blog at least 2-3 times a week. I would love to do more than that, but right now this is a more realistic goal.

2) Plan Ahead- I will use about an hour of my Friday work days to plan and write/outline 2-3 blog posts for the upcoming week. I will also sit down on the last Friday of every month and outline my work plans for the upcoming month.

3) Reduce work related stress by making better use of my time AKA Boundaries– This one is HUGE! I am a firm believer that stress sucks and also sucks my life away. I have lots of goals pertaining to stress in other categories, but as far as work goes, it means not always feeling pressure to be working. Part of working out of your own home is that it is always there, staring you in the face, begging for your time. If I plan the times that I will work on a weekly basis and the times that I will not (and NOT feel guilty for relaxing), I will focus my energy on work when it’s time. This also means taking advantage of the time I have to work and making it productive. Working at home for me means drawing some boundaries for sanity. I don’t want to just go through the motions of life, I want to thrive! Boundaries people!!!

4) Being aware of and researching new ideas- I think to be a successful artist it is really important to always have some tricks in your back pocket. I need to be aware of things that are going on in the art world and be thinking of innovative and creative ideas for new projects. Being open to critique and advice is necessary. I have received some great thoughts from family and friends about new things to make, designs, etc. I have some great ideas for the upcoming year, for new venues for selling and new projects. I need to continue to work toward those ideas and make them a reality. I’m not going to share specifics right now, you’ll just have to stick around and see!

There are more, many more, but that’s all for today. Any new work related thoughts for this new year for you? Do tell, do tell. Accountability is a good thing:) Now you can keep me accountable.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About ArtsyKatie

I enjoy all kinds of art and I love trying new things. Colorful buildings, natural scenery, photography, funky architecture, different cultural settings and international cooking all inspire me. I am a ceramic tile and mosaic artist and I create supplies for others to use in their own artistic endeavors.

2 responses to “My 2011 Art & Work Commitments”

  1. onedayinthelifeofj says :

    Great goals, good luck!

Leave a Reply

