Boooo to being sick

Yesterday I felt achy all over and so did Seth which is why we assumed it was from our joint Yoga session Sunday morning. I didn’t think much of it. I don’t really know what happened, but I woke up in the middle of the night sweating, took my temperature and had a fairly high fever. I felt terrible, drank some water and took Tylenol for the fever.

Normally when I get sick, I feel it coming several days ahead of time. At which point I pump the vitamin B, C and D up a notch and I take garlic, Echinacea and “The Mother” apple cider vinegar. I drink a ton of water, rest up and 99% of the time I am able to kick it in the butt and I feel much better the next day. This time there was no warning though.

Guess what I think the culprit is though? Ice cream=SUGAR! Seth and I have been cutting processed junk, sugar, and grain out of our diets for a few months now and cutting way back on alcohol and caffeine, more strictly since the beginning of the year. Why? We are convinced we can greatly impact our health, short-term and long-term, this way. I am sick of feeling lethargic for no apparent reason.

We have been doing well, except we had the “Blizzard of 2011” last week and it threw us for a loop. We did well during our meals at home and didn’t snack on junk, but we went out to watch a game one night and had some drinks, went out with friends another night and had some drinks, grain and cookies, went to a friends house…you get the idea. I don’t want to be so strict that I can never enjoy treats, but we enjoyed too many last week. Then, Saturday night, Seth and I (well mostly me) really wanted ice cream and we caved. Went out, did some date night like things and came home with ice cream. We both ate it, a large portion, and bam, here I am, feeling sickly and feverish.

I don’t think it’s the ice cream per se, but I do think that sugar seriously weakens our immune systems. After our week of half-ass eating well (aka eating crappy), my immune system was weakened and I must have come in contact with a bug of sorts. So needless to say, I learned my lesson. Hopefully, through vitamins, etc. I will be feeling better sooner than later. But for today, I will be resting, sleeping and NOT eating sugar.

We don’t claim to have all the answers, but we do want to do what we think is best for our health. Cheers to trying to get there. Want more info about why we are eating the way we are?

Check out:

The Crunchy Pickle -This is my sister-in-law’s blog. She is the one that referred me to all of these sources. I am in the beginning stages of looking into all of this, but she has been researching for a while now. She is building a great resource here!

Mark’s Daily Apple

The Schwarzbein Principle

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About ArtsyKatie

I enjoy all kinds of art and I love trying new things. Colorful buildings, natural scenery, photography, funky architecture, different cultural settings and international cooking all inspire me. I am a ceramic tile and mosaic artist and I create supplies for others to use in their own artistic endeavors.

2 responses to “Boooo to being sick”

  1. kitchen-dreams says :

    hope you a feeling better. 🙂

Leave a Reply

