The Best Salad Ever

This is a picture of me (It’s flattering, I know. Give me a break–I was high on some really fantastic salad) in a cafe in Slovenia in 2009 eating God’s gift to salads. On a rainy day in Ljubljana, Seth and I discovered this awesome little tea room/cafe. We ordered lunch and to my surprise, I happened to order a meal that would change my life: a “Rocket Salad,” which I knew was arugula, and I love arugula.

I know this is random, but I was reminded of it last night as we picked our first arugula from our garden for dinner. Because of this fantasy feast, my go-to salad is now some combination of the following: arugula, avocado, parmesan cheese, artichoke hearts, red pepper, chicken, cilantro, blue cheese, sun-dried tomato, topped with olive oil and red wine vinegar. I am not the kind of person who pretends that something healthy tastes really good when it actually does not, but I promise this is. Mmmmmmm…killer. I still turn to Seth now and then and request that he order it for me by long distance delivery. Better yet, we could always go back for a visit:)

PS- If you ever have a chance to go to Slovenia, GO! It’s fantastic. Get this salad for me too.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About ArtsyKatie

I enjoy all kinds of art and I love trying new things. Colorful buildings, natural scenery, photography, funky architecture, different cultural settings and international cooking all inspire me. I am a ceramic tile and mosaic artist and I create supplies for others to use in their own artistic endeavors.

4 responses to “The Best Salad Ever”

  1. onedayinthelifeofj says :

    Haha, nice picture! 🙂 And I like the header!

  2. Erika says :

    YUM that sounds good. But it also sounds like way more ingredients then I would ever have on hand. Not something I’m likely to ever just realize I have all the stuff for!

Leave a Reply

