Fall Cravings

The seriously healthy food I’m craving:


A friend made Mark Bittman’s No-Knead Bread for a picnic last weekend and let’s be honest, it would be divine with almost anything on top…


Ellen made some apple pie the other night and I think I will be wanting some version of it daily for the next few months. Here’s a recipe I found, who knows if it’s good, but I’m pretty sure any would do the trick.


I grew up in upstate NY and part of fall meant eating these, which I know as “fried cakes.” Yes please…


Empire Apples, a NY apple, that I adore…

So what are you craving this fall? Pregnant or not…

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

About ArtsyKatie

I enjoy all kinds of art and I love trying new things. Colorful buildings, natural scenery, photography, funky architecture, different cultural settings and international cooking all inspire me. I am a ceramic tile and mosaic artist and I create supplies for others to use in their own artistic endeavors.

10 responses to “Fall Cravings”

  1. Joel Pearce says :

    Oh man, apple cider donuts are always high on my fall crave list! Post Road Pumpkin Ale and the like are always a fall favorite, too (for Seth, since you’re pregnant, of course).

  2. lexophilia says :

    I was SO excited to get a pumpkin donut from Schutt’s when I was home in September! It was delicious. And now it’s just made me crave cider.

    Re: pie.. I’m a pie purist and like to make my own everything from scratch (no canned fillings or fruits for this girl), but in a pinch recently, I discovered that Pillsbury refrigerated pie crusts are actually not half bad.

    I also have a weakness for Starbucks Pumpkin Cream Cheese muffins. Talk about a heavenly combination.. 😉

  3. Erika says :

    Well now that I’ve seen/heard about 5 people rave about apple cider donuts, I am MAJORLY craving them (can you crave something you’ve never tried? I think yes.)…but I totally do not have time to go to New England this weekend, so what’s a girl to do??!

  4. Lauri Lockerman says :

    There is nothing that says Fall like a nice warm apple pie. I have found a great way to make this all time favorite even better. Personal peices of pie:) All you do is make your pie as normal but instead of it getting put into a pan to bake you simply put the shell and stuffing into a cupcake pan. Only 6 are allowed at a time for spill over. This way there is no cutting and everyone gets just the right size/hand held peice of apple pie:) Or any other treat you don’t want to spend time cutting!

  5. Lacey Kalinowski says :

    Thank you for your post, I was sad that my family was not able to make it to the apple orchard this year. Instead I ended up buying one of the bags and using that to do some baking. This years apple treat was apple /oatmeal cookies..I think they would have done better if I put in some walnuts though. Either way they were a good treat to add to the pile of recipies:)

Leave a Reply

